Live like no one else so that later you can live like no one else….

I have a saying I heard somewhere that I often repeat to my Hillview runners – Today I do what others will not do, so that tomorrow I can do what others cannot do…. Somehow, it just clicked into my mind that this is the same saying as Dave Ramsey’s “Live like no one else so that later you can live like no one else!”

I have not been to his Financial Peace University classes, but years ago he had a program on the radio, which somehow fit into my schedule one summer. As I was driving around doing things I listened to him answer questions about finances from his callers. I was already well along on his program without knowing it.

My first wife and I were spenders and in my 20s were amassed way too much credit card and car payment debt. We reached a point where we were getting cut off by the banks – falling behind. About this same time we had returned to faithful church attendance. My wife and I decided to trust God with our finances by giving a 10% tithe even though we did not seem to be able to afford it. We started giving. We became very careful with what we spent. Meanwhile I looked at the bills. I called some of the companies and got them to accept lower payments. I took the smallest one and paid extra till it was gone…. then the next… then the next…. I was only making 15K a year teaching at a private school so we did not have much to work with. But we were making progress and we could see the light at the end of the tunnel.

About that time my wife passed. Shortly thereafter I finished off the debt….

Later, when I began a new relationship I was able to enter it debt free, other than a payment on a mobile home I owned. I sold it to a friend and moved in with my wife, a debt free homeowner when we got married. So we entered our new life with only her mortgage. We were both working at the same little private school and together we had three children, so we had very little income.

A year after the wedding I moved to public teaching and she moved to a better  paying private school. We sold her house which was barely in the black at the time and bought our present, more expensive home. We had more income but we had a bigger mortgage. Cheryl always insisted I pay above the minimum, even after we refinanced it into a 20 year loan. The house purchased in November 97 was paid off in March 2013 – 15.5 years.

So, financially we lived like no one else. We scrimped, we did not spend money we did not have. We did not go on vacations. We did not throw big parties. We were very careful. We lived like on one else…..

So now, the money that used to go to house payments goes into savings for retirement. The money that used to go into car payments goes into savings to buy cars, when needed with cash – did that last year. Now we can put money into fixing up our aging home. This year we put in tile floors, new counters and refaced kitchen cabinetry…. Now, since we have the vacation time, and the finances to afford it, we can go to Europe for a 3 1/2 week (but still frugal) vacation….

Now, since we lived like no one else we get to live like no one else. Since we did what others would not do, we got to do what others can not do….

It is the same with health and fitness. There is a price to be paid – living like no one else – training when you don’t want to go train, refraining from eating anything and everything that you want to eat ( I am preaching at myself here) …. there is a price to be paid that will return the reward of fitness and ability to perform competitively when desired.

As a runner, or a cyclist, or any other athlete, you have to live like no one else so that later you can live like no one else…. You have to do today what others will not do, so that tomorrow you can do what others can not do.

Most importantly I believe there is spiritual application here as well. We are beings created by a God who has created everything. I can give solid reasons for this belief, but I will save that for another blog or post…. Still He has taught us that living like no one else – refraining from stealing, coveting, cheating, murdering, selfish behaviors, self destructive behaviors, hate, envy ….. you get the idea. Living without these things leads to a better life here by avoiding the natural consequences these things lead to.

Morally speaking, living like no one else leads to the ability to live like no one else…. Today I try to do what others will not do so that tomorrow I can do what others can not do.

Finally….. Ultimately…..  living like no one else – belief in Jesus and his sacrifice, developing a personal relationship with Him, living with His goals and priorities number one in your life – living like no one else will lead to a life after death like no one else…

Two sayings – Live like no one else so that you can live like no one else – Today do what others will not do so that tomorrow you can do what others cannot do.

Save and do not be wasteful – get debt free…… then you will be able to do fun things and be generous and helpful with your money.

Train, be careful with what you eat ….. you will be able to do fun things and compete with your body.

Live a moral life …… you will avoid many, many problems that are caused by immoral choices.

Believe and live for Christ ….. you will live eternally with Him someplace far better – I cannot wait to be able to run and not be weary….

2 thoughts on “Live like no one else so that later you can live like no one else….

  1. Congratulations to Cheryl and you! Your sacrifices and careful planning has allowed you guys to achieve what most people can only dream of.

Leave a Reply

